Posted by: brendaintheboro | August 2, 2015

A Bike and Bus Pass Micro-tour Part 3

I fully intended to cycle to Sunderland and hop a bus home but DS1 called and said he would come up by train early and meet up to ride home. So home it was going to be.

I set off after an early breakfast and cycled down through Tyne Dock and into South Shields where I met a Sustrans ranger who was out for his Saturday ride. Once I was at the Town Hall we parted ways and I continued up Beach Road in a reminiscent mood and then along the coast. There was now a brisk SW wind blowing. Why does it nearly always turn around?

DS1 phoned to ask where I was – near Marsden so he cycled along to meet me near Whitburn and we headed along into Sunderland.

 

WP_20150801_09_16_51_Pro

These gates have a cycling theme so DS1 thought it appropriate to take my photo here. He had also brought a Yorkshire day flag to put up as well and I was so pleased it fitted in. You can also see the rain cover on the trailer here too. I noticed drivers were usually better at overtaking with this in place.

Fortunately, I know the city and the route but for those not familiar , it can be an easy place to get lost. The signage isn’t too good. However, we were soon through Silksworth and along to Ryhope. There has been a lot of new house building here and I nearly didn’t recognise the place. All the old terraced houses have been demolished apart from a few near the start of the old rail trail. It’s a tight squeeze through the barrier at the bottom but doable. Then came the slog of a climb into the wind and we stopped at Murton for a bite to eat before carrying on again.

We came off the NCN1 track at Haslam as its not nice, muddy and dirty, and then rode down to Shotton calling in to the community centre and refilling our waterbottles.  Back on the track, the trailer coped well with the ruts and manhole covers that I was worried about crossing and we were into Station town and on to the Castle Eden trail . I did have to walk one of the small hills due to the barriers.

WP_20150801_10_53_28_Pro

We stopped and ate once again and then rode through Billingham to home completing a journey of 151miles in 3 days. I gave myself a pat on the back mentally and then we all went out for dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

