Posted by: brendaintheboro | April 21, 2024

More textile stuff as well as cycling

Well , the forecast wasn’t too bad on Thursday but wanted to get back before 2pm when rain was forecast.

We decided to head across to Paddock Farm , the garden centre with cafe near Dalyon Gates.

Paddock Farm tea room

We took the same route across through Croft and then turned off towards Scorton.

We got a lovely reception from Emma , who is so helpful, so I could eat a nice tuna sandwich without any fats. She was telling us that some cyclists are so rude and demanding, one even clicking his fingers at her as he was in a hurry!! There is never any room for unkindness in my book.

After enjoying our stop we rode on towards Scorton but the turned down at the crossroads and got ourselves home via East Cowton, Great Stainton and Yarm. The last bit there was the start of rain so in Appleton Wiske I donned my waterproof pants. So glad I did as I didn’t get a soaking and it was only light rain – until we got into the house.

On Friday, I went off to the Spring Quilt show which has transferred venue to Wetherby racecourse. DH was going to ride down and get a lift home with me but as it was the weather was wet and windy so he didn’t bother.

I enjoyed the show but the venue was in two buildings and on three floors which was a bit confusing. I did enjoy seeing other people’s work and getting some more fabric and at template from Crafty-UK who custom made it for me. I didn’t take too many photos but a man sitting demonstrating lucet making really struck me. Look at his shoe laces.

Lucet made shoe laces

On Saturday, I had purchased some embroidery scissors for an elderly lady I know well. So our ride was up to Eston under the hills and then along to Kirkleatham to see a fashion through the 20th century exhibition. I will share the photos from it. Just look at how things changed in 100 years

1900
1910
1920

Look just how much the skirt length shortened

1930
1940 – the war years
1950
1960
1970
1980
1990

I felt like I was looking at my early life seeing these sewing machines.

Early sewing machines

So I enjoyed the exhibition which DH sat and waited. We then returned via Redcar and the Trunk Road.

So 68 miles this week. Hope we do get better weather soon


Responses

  1. Amazing. I was at the Quilt Show on Saturday. I took lots of photo’s and made a video. Your fashion photo’s are fantastic. There are such a lot of events going on at the moment.

    • Lovely to hear from you Ilona. Wish I had known you were going on the Saturday as Friday was manic at first.

      • Hi Brenda. I wanted to see an event at York as well, so Wetherby fitted in very well with that. An overnight stay in the car. Wasn’t sure which way round to do them, go to the nearest first made sense. I don’t normally like going to events at the weekend because you never know which day is going to be the busiest. A friend of mine had a stall there, and she said it was busy on the Friday.

      • Which stall was that Ilona?

      • She was just inside the door in the main building. Next to Humberside Embroidery Group. She goes by the name of PingWynny, don’t know what her real name is. I have done a couple of her workshops. She gave me some info about future workshops she is running, I will book one or two of those. They are quite local to me. I will put some info about her on the quilt posts in the next few days. When I have done the York posts. There is a picture of her stall on her Facebook page. pingwynny handmade textiles – search results | Facebook

      • She’s called Gillian- not sure of her surname. I did her northern lights workshop- finished it last night. Just need to frame it. If she wasn’t so far south of me I would do more with her

  2. I see you have commented on her page.

    • Did you see the quilt pictures on my blog?

      • Yes left a couple of comments

  3. It must have been a big relief when hem lines went up and you didn’t spend your life trailing your skirt in the mud and dust.


Leave a comment

Categories