Posted by: brendaintheboro | March 3, 2024

Rainy days

Still more rain came down this week so only got in a couple of short rides.

I’m sure most people have rides that they do regularly but I woke up thinking of a short ride with a bit of a twist. Instead of riding up one side of a road we crossed over and I noticed this piece of sculpture.

Near Dixons Bank , Marton

This gave us a different ride through Nunthorpe and back home.

On Saturday, again the weather forecast was poor so when we woke up early, there was a glimmer of sun. So it was out early despite the frost.

Down by the river, it was still and so I took this photo of the flat calm river basin.

The Middlesbrough transporter bridge on the far right

The good weather didn’t last so we took the opportunity to head north and do some of the shopping we do every couple of months for bulk buys.

My son finished knitting his jumper which is quite an accomplishment for him. I had to make up the pattern as none was available so it’s a little baggy but he did it. I stitched it up for him.

Good news as he is doing well and later this week starts an eight week healthy eating and cookery course thanks to our wonderful mental health team.

I also finished a small quilt I began in the slack period between Christmas and New Year. I thoroughly enjoyed the free machine quilting and was quite adventurous in using contrasting threads in some areas.

Whole quilt
Some of the quilting

I do this on a Janome 8200 and all the quilting relies on me moving the quilt under the moving needle.

So 25 miles ridden this past week


Responses

  1. The jumper looks brilliant. I wish that I could knit. The quilt looks pretty nifty too.

  2. What a creative team. I like the yarn color.

  3. Wow! re the quilt and the jumper. Two talented people.


Leave a comment

Categories