Posted by: brendaintheboro | August 5, 2017

Teaching Quilting

This week a few from our quilt group met at Knot in Guisborough, the needlecraft workshop owned by Beryl. She allowed us free use of her premises and stayed to make us refreshments too. Beryl is a good teacher and has a lot of students in her various classes.

So , I got to be the teacher for the day. It began because out group, Pieceful Days Quilters has been set a challenge to make small wall hangings based on the houses we live in. M has an unusual 1960’s architect designed house and she wanted a way to do trees. She has seen my small quilt that I made earlier in the year and wanted to learn the technique.

20170409_181035

I learned it from watching the Quilt Show which is a subscription internet channel. Laura Fogg an American quilter showed her most used technique of raw edge free form collage. This uses even scraps of fabric placed directly on top of wadding and then overlaid with fine tulle. Then the fun of free machine quilting can begin.

I contacted Laura and asked permission to show some of her images to my class and she graciously agreed. These are the small quilts  layered up and pinned but not stitched.

So I have some pictures to show. No one got the pieces completely finished but you can see how they came on.

Here is some stitching going on. The pink grippy stuff helps to move the quilt. This acts like the gloves. Different people like different ways. I told B that she could try with the free dogs up or down. She preferred with the feed dogs down.

 

I learned as well. I took it for granted that these ladies knew how to free machine quilt. Not so. One lady had been put off by having a class with a well know quilter/author who told her that until she got a better machine she would never manage it. I told her of quilters who free machine on very old Singer machines who do beautiful work.  Before starting her on the piece she had layered up , I gave her a  practice piece and she put on my quilting gloves and then she had a try. By the end of the class she was delighted and had great success.

Another quilter who produces beautiful work said she nearly always uses a walking foot and not free machining and she too went away feeling confident to proceed at home.

One lady used a card she had kept for many years as her inspiration, one used a photograph I had taken earlier this year of poppies and alliums and another used a landscape scene.

P1000652

P1000650

P1000651

All agreed it was a worthwhile day. I had a feeling of happiness that I had passed on a skill.

 

Responses

  1. Wow – those are really lovely quilts! And I shall use your tip about the grippy stuff – I think that will come in really useful when I make bigger things.

    • my preference is the gloves but they are a lot more expensive thanh the grippy stuff

  2. Excellent results.

    • thanks TP . it was really heartwarming to see the results and to have the feedback that I was a gentle teacher

  3. Not only had you passed on a skill but infused others with your enthusiasm and inspiration Brenda. I wish I was close enough to take a class with you.

    • Thanks Robyn that makes me feel really chuffed. A good feeling

  4. Lovely, yet contemporary quilt designs. A good refreshing change.

    • thank you Jean. I love this technique that I am still exploring in small quilts


Leave a Reply

Categories

