Posted by: brendaintheboro | November 6, 2016

Winter’s on it’s way

Well, Monday was All Hallows Eve or Halloween as its more popularly known and as the end of October it was still very pleasant and on Monday we got in a longish early morning ride. As the clocks also changed at the weekend, it was relatively light too.

What a difference the turning of a month made. The weather became much colder but I did manage to get in 2 rides on Tuesday, wearing warmer gloves and an extra top layer. Wednesday, I got out of bed feeling chilly and when I looked out of the window, promptly got back in. There was a hard frost covering the roofs and the hedges. Now while I don’t mind the cold too much – frost in combination with lots of wet leaves , is not good. I don’t want to have a fall so I was able to wait until lunchtime having giggled work around to fit in a ride. Thursday was worse and I didn’t ride at all. I had intended an afternoon ride but when I was due to go out , it was raining.

Friday did see me out early again as it is a little milder and then we checked the forecast for a longer ride on Saturday. However wind and rain aren’t a good forecast so we decided to wait and see. We were hoping for a repeat of last weekend but it wasn’t to be. So we cycled along the river to Stockton, stopping to put on rain gear. We bought fresh farm eggs and then rode home along the river. As we approached Newport bridge, it even started to hail mixed with the rain so we didn’t go through the town but took the shortest way home.

I spent the afternoon working in my sewing room and I have a completed top on the design wall. It still needs layering and quilting but its looking good.

So stats for the week are 59.7miles and YTD mileage is 3936.7 miles.

 

Responses

  1. You did better than me. I got discouraged about cycling in the cold.

  2. It’s so strange to imagine the colder weather when ours is heating up to sweaty humid days. Your edging closer to the 4000 goal.

    • just been out this morning as dawn broke . It was 2C and very damp but at least there was no frost. We only rode 6.5 miles but it all helps the total. less than 60 miles to my goal. We have snow forecast for later in the week.bbrrrr

      • Shall look forward to reading your next update 🚴🏻🚴

  3. Gosh you are a stalwart Brenda. I find all sorts of reasons not to venture out in the rain and wind. And I live in a sub-tropical climate so it’s rarely what you’d think of as cold. But hail? That’s a whole other thing!

  4. Mmmm … curiouser and curiouser.


Leave a Reply

Categories

