Posted by: brendaintheboro | August 28, 2016

Cycling again- sort of.

Well, its 2 weeks since I last posted and my leg/knee has improved but still isnt 100%. Strange but I forgot that I had hurt it cycling to the Cycle Touring Festival at Clitheroe in late May. It was only when a Facebook friend asked about a route that I remembered walking down a 25% hill to stop the trailer jack-knifing that it popped into my head.

Anyway, I have been icing it regularly and applying a non-steroidal gel and it is definitely not as painful as it was . Still , that has given me time to quilt and I got the baby quilt finished.

If you look closely  , you can see the quilting and I used a combination of ruler work and free machine quilting. As I didn’t have quite enough of the red fabric I inserted a plain red piece and then appliqued a circle of an owl to blend it in. You can see it on the extreme left of the whole quilt picture.

I did try a bit of cycling last weekend. DH took me on our old tandem for a short ride and then I decided to try on Speedy, my Dahon Speed TR. Mistake!! I spent a lot of Sunday with an ice pack on my knee. DH wasn’t too happy about how the tandem was going as we haven’t used it for a long time.

In the mean time , I thought about DS1 who has a birthday this weekend. He hasn’t cycled much as his bike had a frame repair, and he didn’t think it was going to last.

I made a decision to try to help him.  Although  he is at least 6″ taller than me , his inside leg measurement is 2″ shorter than mine. I phoned Dave at Cyclesense in Tadcaster and discussed what size frame would be suitable. In fact he had been to the Koga factory in the Netherlands and had brought back a model made for the German market. So I sent DS1 down to have a test ride and the upshot was , he came back with it. Dave has been very helpful so a big thank you to Cyclesense. The model is an F3 but DS1 took some of the components off his old frame and this is how it looks.

20160826_131729 [725515]

DH then decided to use the gear shifters and replace the twist grip shifters and put them on the tandem. So off we went for another short ride.

20160826_121902 [725511]

We were hoping to get away for the long weekend but it wasn’t going to be a possibility but on the whole I am quite pleased as there has been quite a lot of rain on some of the days. However, yesterday was beautiful so we had a ride to Redcar and Marske. An advantage of riding as stoker, is that I can take photos while riding. Here are a few of them.

The sea was very calm and it was beautiful riding along the promenade towards Saltburn. I did need to stop and rest a little .

It wasn’t really my knee that bothered me but an unfamiliar saddle!!

 

20160827_110048300_iOS

We could see cloud beginning to build and the forecast was for rain later in the day. We headed back along NCN route 1 and DH asked if I would mind calling in to the LDS chapel we attend. He did what he needed to do but as we were leaving discovered a front wheel puncture. Fortunately we had a spare tube and a repair kit so while he did the change over , I applied a patch to the old tube. Teamwork.

So then it was off home via an old friends to fill his bird feeders and @ldi to buy fruit and we arrived home just before it began to rain. We don’t have a working cycle computer but estimate with the short runs I have completed about 50 miles in the 2 weeks. Hopefully, I will be cycling on my own soon.

 

 

Responses

  1. Good luck with the knee. I hadn’t thought of being able to photograph from the stoker’s seat. What a good idea. I must encourage Mrs T to get a tandem and pedal me around.

    • do you think she would think it a good idea? Stokers are supposed to be the powerhouse on the tandem you know. teehee

      • She would never know. I would breathe heavily while I was shooting.

  2. I had a giggle about photographing from the stoker’s seat Brenda… ‘lucky you’ I thought as I remembered juggling my camera in one hand while riding over the weekend 🙂
    It sounds like the knee is on the mend and I hope you’ll be riding solo again soon. In the meantime, it must be wonderful getting out there on the tandem. And the photos are great! Get well soon.

    • thanks Gail. This getting older can be a pain but at least we have solutions. off out again today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

