Posted by: brendaintheboro | August 7, 2016

Recovery

I don’t know if others are like me, but I can go on tour and not feel tired – until I come home and then I can sleep for England.

I had a lot of work last week and can honestly say I felt tired. I did still go cycling but kept the mileage down so I had only ridden about 20 miles until yesterday.

DH was up for a long ride – but not me- so he left the house about 5.00am. He wanted to go back up to Ryhope and avoid the section of NCN1 between Shotton Colliery and South Hetton. So he studied the map and made his way on the road. This adds about one and a half miles and a bit of climbing going north but it is worth it to avoid some unpleasant litter strewn muddy track. The road isnt too busy.

I had a sleep in until 7.00am and then did some cutting out of a child’s bridesmaids dress that is required for next weekend. Then I rode over to the butchers in Thornaby to buy the sausage I am able to eat (chicken) and returned home.

DH arrived home a little later and after a bit of tinkering with his bottom bracket asked if I wanted to ride. Well, I did so we determined to have a ride to Redcar by way of Marske. We called on Uncle R who we know from Sustrans and he was pleased to see us as he had to sell his bicycle. We had a lovely visit.

Then we rode along the coast road and stopped on the promenade. The sun was shining and there were even people swimming in the sea.

20160806_131803650_iOS

Looking towards Huntcliffe near Saltburn

After picnicking, we made out way into Redcar passing lots of families playing on the beach. The further we went , the more crowded it became. We could see people walking with numbers on and it became obvious that this was a race walk – The Redcar Blaze. I stopped to ask an official about it and it is a 100mile walking race expected to finish Sunday afternoon!! people think I am crazy but walking 100 miles in about 24 hours?????

Then it was home along the recently resurfaced cycle track but with a freshening headwind so it became a bit of a slog. DH finished up with 87 miles for the day and it was 27 miles for me. this is DH’s ride data.

https://ridewithgps.com/users/797855/activities

Responses

  1. I’ve really enjoyed reading about your recent tours, Brenda, and you’ve helped to inspire me to get on and do one, despite a house move at the end of this month. So I’m off next week to cycle to the Festival of Quilts at the NEC! 5 days, 4 nights, 2 of which are camping. It’s people like you that make people like me get on and do these things, so keep it up!

    • oh LIzzie – I wish I could go to Festival of Quilts but I just cannot cope with all the perfumes etc. I would really like to visit the Westerlee stall as I have started using rulerwork, Have a great trip. I am looking forward to reading about it when you get back

  2. I’m so glad we’ve connected here on WordPress!

  3. Yes, your tours are definitely inspiring Brenda.


Leave a Reply

Categories

