Posted by: brendaintheboro | May 22, 2016

A summer cold

Well Monday started as a lovely day and we had a morning ride along the river.

You can see by the long shadow that it was early and we got 16 miles in. Unfortunately by Tuesday I began with a sore throat and by Wednesday my nose was streaming too. Now because of the finer weather and rising pollen count I wasn’t sure if it was a summer cold or hayfever. Fortunately for me, its not another sensitivity I have to content with. So I didn’t cycle at all on Wednesday , as DH told me to look after myself as I want to cycle to the Cycle Touring Festival next week. So I saw sense and  then just did very short rides on both Thursday and Friday as the streaming mucus abated.

Saturday  wasn’t forecast to be too good but I wanted to buy buttons for another shirt I have been working on, So it was into town to get some and then as it was still dry we headed along the river.

 

There was a rowing regatta going on . We stopped to chat with a couple who were sitting waiting for their daughters  race and hoping that the rain would hold off but they were prepared with an umbrella.  We carried on along into Stockton and then kept on the top road to avoid  the crowds on the north side of the river.  By doing so , we missed that the rowing club were selling cake! Duh! MY friend C told me about this later, as she took shelter from the rain. We were lucky to arrive home just as the rain started.

So my cycling total for this week is only 55.56 miles. Still I did get in a very good mileage last week.

Today, at church we held a Munch and Mingle which was very well attended. We were welcoming home a young man who has just returned from his mission and we are saying farewell to a young student who is returning to his studies in Finland.

As you can see there was plenty of food as everyone who is able contributes whatever they can. It was a joyous occasion.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry about your cold, and glad it seems to be easing up. Did you see any Tyne United Rowing Club boats? My grandson was rowing in a regatta, but I don’t know where exactly. There’s always food at these events – my daughter makes a lot of it!

    • Hi Viv, there were clubs from all over but I did hear there was some from the Tyne but not sure which club. feeling much better today

  2. I like the idea of a munch and mingle.

    • they are great. we get such a variety of food as we have people from a lot of different cultures at church- its a bit like the united nations and we love it.

  3. Brenda I love the narrative quality of your posts. I feel I am along for the ride – virtually anyway. Hope you’re feeling better now.

  4. thank you Robyn – what a lovely compliment.

  5. I’m late landing on this post Brenda – thanks to some jet lag and being out of action with a cold too. I hope you’re feeling much better now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

