Posted by: brendaintheboro | May 1, 2016

Winter’s Revenge

 

Well after the small amount of sunshine last week, winter came back to bite us on the bum. It really scuppered our plans for a cycle camping trip with more snow forecast and gale force winds up in Northumberland. Now, I may be hardy but foolhardy I am not, so we decided to abort the trip. This decision was taken  as the snow fell in big wet flakes as I did my early morning ride on Tuesday. It didn’t stay for long but the rest of the week has been very cold and there have been a number of times when we have ridden in hailstones. Now they hurt as they ping down.

I had arranged time off from work so we did ride along the river on Thursday. On Friday, we took the opportunity to drive over to Chorley to spend some time at the Preston Temple. On the way there , we drove the route I hope to ride to the Cycle Touring festival in Clitheroe  at the end of May. On the return journey, we called in to Empress Mills so I could pick up some wadding for the charity quilts we are making at church. The business is run by a wonderful team who are very helpful.

The Tour de Yorkshire started in Beverley and ended in Settle. As a consequence , as we drove home we saw many cyclists  coming back to the Skipton area. They looked freezing. Sir Bradley Wiggins had a fall and retired from the race on this first day.

Saturday saw  some dry and bright , if cold weather and so we set off along the river to Newport Bridge.

From there we rode up through Billingham and then along into Stockton  with cloud building all the while. We then turned and rode up through Ingleby Barwick and on up into Hilton. The rain kept off so we decided to carry on to Seamer. The views of the Cleveland Hills were lovely and we had good views.

We continued down the hill and into Stokesley and  on into Great Ayton where even more decorations have gone up for the Tour de Yorkshire.  This was my favourite and someone had gone to a lot of trouble to make it.

TABLET - WIN_20160430_125859 We cycled 35 miles yesterday and the week’s total was 88 miles. Not as much as  last week but considering the weather , a respectable amount.

Just thought I would add a photo of Tour as it left Middlesbrough today and one of my cycling friends took a photo in Great Ayton.

Facebook-20160501-064817

As you can see it was cold and wet for the last stage 198kms.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry your planned trip was blighted. But you managed to keep cyclig nontheless. Bravo.

    • thanks Viv. We can only hope for better weather

  2. Good mileage for such a miserable week.

    • Thanks TP . I hope you have better weather for your trip away

      • Variable but on the plus side so far.

  3. glad to hear that. it rained here this morning but it got sunny this afternoon, but still cool.

  4. I haven’t ridden in hail but I’m sure those stones would hurt. Our hail always comes with an electrical storm and that means lightning – so, if I can, I avoid riding my bike. I find the storms exciting but not if I’m on my bike 🙂 Being adaptable is a good quality to have. Some days and excursions are better taken not on a bike 🙂

    • it was so cold that the rain turned to ice. we do get hail with lightening usually when its hot – not very often here teehee! I will be so glad when we can get away cycle camping

  5. Kudos to you for hanging in there! Your photos are lovely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

