Posted by: brendaintheboro | April 3, 2016

1st Quarter Ends

How fast the first 3 months of this year has flown. Last weekend Storm Katie blew in and while it wasn’t so bad that it caused damage, it was still wild enough that cycling was curtailed a bit. Then I succumbed to a head cold so this weeks mileage was down at 76.26 miles but I can record that by the month end I was at 1,150 miles and the weekend was 1,176.26 miles.  Makes me feel good that I am slightly over target  for my goal of 4000 miles in 2016.

On my rides, it has mostly been along the river and around Albert Park.I was very surprised to see a swan nesting so close to the track.

photo 1 - Copy (6)

Sometimes I se it sitting on the nest and then other times it is gone, and I cannot see any eggs. I don’t know if there will be any cygnets or not but a fence with notice has been put up.

photo 2 - Copy (6)

I do hope it is safe here. I know swans can be aggressive when sitting a nest from earlier experiences kayaking on canals and rivers at this time of the year. The swans usually nest on the islands in the lake so why here I am not sure.

Anyway friends, sorry not much  to report this week.

 

Responses

  1. Congratulations on your achievement. I was glad to see the rails and the notice protecting the swan and her nest. I grew up by the Thames, with swans at the bottom of the garden.

  2. Well done for being up with the mileage target. I have the same target for the year but I am a hundred and a bit miles behind at the moment.

  3. Sorry to hear you’ve been sick Brenda. Fortunately the year goal isn’t in jeopardy. I love swans but they can be fierce.

  4. A chance to rest up and enjoy your cycling miles achieved and plan some more 🙂 Get well soon Brenda.


Leave a Reply

Categories

