Posted by: brendaintheboro | December 25, 2015

Merry Christmas

We have had very poor weather recently and storm after storm has been rolling in. Indeed , the west of the country has been very badly hit and there has been repeated flooding in some places in Cumbria. My heart goes out to them and I heard on the news this morning that the army has been called in to build more flood defences.
I have been sewing quilts and using a new technique using rulers on a domestic sewing machine. I am pleased with the results but still need more practice. DS1 was so pleased to receive this quilt as a Christmas gift.

WIN_20151220_101727

Here are some of the details of the quilting.

WIN_20151220_101832 WIN_20151220_101812

I have really enjoyed learning these skills on a http://www.Craftsy.com class with Amy Johnson . These classes are really good and you can learn in your own time an ask questions of the instructor. Well worth using .

This morning, looking at the weather forecast we could see that going out just after it got light would be the best time. It has been unseasonably warm of late but this morning was much cooler at about 4C. The sky was clear so the full moon was visible in the early hours and when we rode along the river , low tide was very low.

We went up into Stockton and took a few photos in the market place, I have to say that the Christmas lights in Stockton were much nicer than in Middlesbrough.

CAM00252CAM00246

This is the poem on the plinth behind me.

rudolf

Sorry I couldn’t get the whole of this lighted Rudolf and calf on but it was such a pretty sight.

CAM00255

I just loved this  bright blue bauble.

CAM00253

And a lovely tree.

CAM00248

I wont leave out my lovely DH who is such a help in all I do.

Happy Christmas everyone

Responses

  1. Merry Christmas, Brenda and lovely hubby. The quilt is beautiful and I like the Stockton Sparkles bauble.

  2. thank you Ilona. Merry Christmas to you too.

  3. Just to say I really enjoyed that you’d had your photo taken next to the plinth, and did one of the poem – seeing as i wrote it. It’s the kind of thing I like to think happens but haven’t seen evidence of till now! People can read a bit more about the poem here if interested. http://howilearnedtosing.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/the-infinite-town.html Save travels.


Leave a Reply

Categories

