Posted by: brendaintheboro | September 6, 2015

Harrogate Quilt Show

This post is not cycle related so you can stop now if you aren’t interested in textiles.

Yesterday , I went off to the Great Northern Quilt and Needlework show in Harrogate. I was determined not to buy any fabric and did succeed but only bought things I really to make more quilts – wadding,  interfacing ,needles and some clips. So watch this space as I will be making in the next few months.

I want to show you some of the quilts that caught my eye. The , I think, best in show was this quilt called Perseverance and was stunning.IMG_1836 IMG_1820 IMG_1819

I hope you can see the free machine quilting . The maker also used paint and inktense pencils to colour the fabric. I was blown away by it and I heard a lady behind me, making a disparaging remark about – well its only machine quilting. Sorry but I couldn’t hold my tongue. I very politely asked if she machine quilted. No she did hand quilting only. I then told her she didn’t appreciate the amount of skill needed to produce such work. She very quickly scurried away.IMG_1837

Well done to the lady from North Shields.

There were also a few others I really liked and I will show them.

IMG_1833

I loved this one by Sheena Norquay. The combination of white, greys and these colours in small measure.

There were also a few quilts by a duo of German ladies. They had similarities in the quilting which made me go and look to see if they were by the same maker. They were in different places but distinctive.

IMG_1830 IMG_1829 IMG_1823

It was a lovely show. Not too big to be overawing but small enough to let you see it all and gain inspiration.

In the evening , we went to a 70th birthday party and danced the night away. Well ,until just after 9.00pm when we had enough exercise dancing to a lovely folk band.

Responses

  1. How beautiful, the first one looks like Delftware! I don’t quilt because I don’t have room for the end product but I have had a very amateurish go or two in the past. These look like works of art.

    • I thought so too. I love blue and white and have some blue plates on the wall. There were some that were real works of art.


Leave a Reply

Categories

