Posted by: brendaintheboro | December 10, 2014

Companion quilts

kr As some of you know , one of my keen interests is making quilts and other textiles. This year I’ve completed two large quilts, both on a domestic sewing machine. That means piecing the fabrics together, then layering up top , wadding and backing and then quilting , all the while  coping with the size. I decided to try quilt as you go, meaning I didn’t have so much weight to push and pull about as the quilt is divided into smaller sections, quilted and then those pieces joined together.  The quilt shown above was made in blocks , quilted and then the backing , wadding and sashing all joined by machine.   TABLET - WIN_20141207_100921 (3) This one, is a companion to the first. If you look closely, you will see that the centre of the circles , was cut out , when the circles were cut out to fit the coloured circles into the centre of those blocks. These blocks are larger and this time I joined them by machine on the front. Then the backing had to be joined by hand before finishing the machine quilting and binding. TABLET - WIN_20141207_101043 TABLET - WIN_20141207_101030 this is to try to let you see the quilting more closely. Hope you like them.

Responses

  1. Brenda, sorry not to have been in touch but found myself spending too much time reading blogs. Thank you for your cute Christmas message.

    I love your quilts, they are beautiful and skilful, as I know, having done some quilting myself – only not to the designs or standard of yours. I am too impatient to do such intricate stuff.

    Also, hardly been on bike these last few months for one thing or another. I just hope we get some dry weather (I hate cycling in the rain) As I generally cycle alone it can be tedious and even more unpleasant getting wet as well!

    Have a lovely Christmas and a healthy and happy 2015.

  2. Lovely to hear from you. I haven’t done so much now we are into winter. Did have a short ride into town today . it was bright but cold. planning is underway for next year. we are looking at Holland and Germany.
    all the best for Christmas and the new year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

