Posted by: brendaintheboro | January 1, 2014

New Year, let’s get riding.

Well, the forecast for reasonable weather  this morning got us going. DS1 took a bit of persuasion but as a weak sun peeped through the clouds, he got ready. We didn’t know what we were going to do but headed off up towards Dixon’s bank and on the cycle track to old Nunthorpe village. There was a stiff breeze blowing but it was dry for the time being. DS1 had to stop and take off his sunglasses because that made the sky look even darker.
DH suggested using the very minor road to cut across to the Stokesley road but I vetoed that on account of the ford which I thought might be full of water and I didn’t want to get my feet wet. So it was over the roundabout and along to Great Ayton. We were directly into a freshening headwind and it was tough for me but as I wasn’t going fast enough for DH, he gave me a helping hand on the back for which I was thankful.
We were really surprised to see so many cars and people in the village but believe there must have been a run on as we saw the stragglers returning as select the village on the road to Easby.
How is it that when you are slogging into a headwind, the road seems much longer? Boy, it was good to get to the turning to Stokesley and to have a quartering wind which was moderated by the hedge. This meant that progress was faster and just as well as a light rain began to fall. We got into Stokesley and had a brief stop where I put on my rain gear. I have to say its only about the 4th time I have worn my Berghaus Paclite vortex over trousers and do think they work well, even if they seemed a little tight after the Christmas food!
We took a more direct route home and once at Cherry hill nurseries, it a great run down to the roundabout near Hemlington/Coulby Newham where we picked up the cycle path home. Downhill almost all the way. 22 miles and the last part with the wind on our backs. Sorry no photos but didn’t want to get the tablet wet.

Responses

  1. Happy New Year, Brenda. You’re doing very well with your cycling despite the weather, I’m afraid I’ve hardly touched the bike but did go out last week on my recumbent, as it was a bit icy. Did enjoy it too. I have a thing about yellow hi viz, It sets my teeth on edge. I prefer either pink or orange myself.

    • Good to hear from you. We’ve been getting out despite the weather but your side of the country has been worse hit this past week. Need to get rid of some of this post Christmas excess haha!
      Have booked to go cycle camping at Easter at Borough bridge and its started others to book too. Could be like a mini rally! Fancy it? Some people will drive there though and we’ll have rides out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

