Posted by: brendaintheboro | December 26, 2013

Boxing day ride

After our Christmas feast, we felt it expedient to have a bit of activity today and went out for a short ride. It would have  been longer but the temperatures dropped overnight and we had severe frost. Still undeterred we set off but with care.
The main roads had been well gritted but that’s not where we prefer to ride. Smaller roads and tracks are the best option.
I had my 63 birthday this week so don’t want any falls thank you. Consequently, on places I know stay really frosty I dismounted and walked.
We went along the north side of the river Tees as this caught most sunshine so melting the ice in places. We chatted to 3 chaps who reminded us of Foggy, Compo and Clegg, if you’ve watch ” Last of the Summer Wine” you’ll know what I mean. A little later, I met an old friend I haven’t seen in a few years. Decked out in sunglasses and a seasonally decorated helmet , she didn’t recognise me. People are more willing to pass nice compliments about it.
I will post a photo of the damage to the footpaths over Portrack Marshes as they are still flooded.

image

Here all the top dressing has just been washed away and while the area remains flooded, it cannot be repaired.
Even at noon , the tracks were still ice covered so we decided to return

Leave a Reply

Categories

