Posted by: brendaintheboro | August 28, 2013

August Bank Holiday Jaunt- Tuesday, 27th August 2013

We didn’t have such an early start on our last day, leaving the campsite at 7.40am. It’s much quicker to strike camp when it is light. However, there was thick mistake, so it was a wet pack of the tent.
We followed the route I’ve ridden 3 times this year through Boroughbridge, Norton le Clay and into Cundall. I’ve seen this and never stopped to photograph it, so today was the day.

image

image

image

It is nearly Cundall  Manor which I think is now a prep school. They poem is extracts from Ted Hughs poem, the Iron Man.
It was still foggy and as it was nearly 9.00am, traffic was building so we went through Asenby and Topcliffe before riding the A167 into Northallerton. I phoned DH as he was riding out to meet us. Guess what? He had another puncture. He has finally put in a new tube and has new tyres on order.
After 2nd breakfast and some chatting in Brompton, we were on the way and here comes DH. He had cycled 17 miles , so much quicker than us. So we rode home in sunshine together. A lovely trip that has made me appreciated our beautiful county even more. 304 miles in total not bad for an old biddy and a fat boy Haha!

Responses

  1. Goodness, I think your amazing, and a wonderful inspiration!
    Over 70 miles on one day!
    Thankyou so much for sharing your trip, I have enjoyed reading about it immensely. And since doing so have also got my bike back out if the garage three times this week!

    I hope you have a great week. 🙂

    Rw

    • Thanks retrowren, I am sooooo tired today but I did have a wonderful time and enjoyed sharing it on my blog.

  2. Looks like you had a nice little trip with some interesting sights along the way, despite the odd bit of rain. Hope I can get at least one more trip in before the winter returns 🙂

    • Nice to hear from you Codmental. It’s nice to know someone is reading


Leave a Reply

Categories

