Posted by: brendaintheboro | August 8, 2013

Eppleby and back

My DH wanted me out of the way today as he was going to decorate my work room. Unfortuntely for me, I react to the smell of paint ( and a lot of other stuff) , so as the weather was nice, off I went on  my Koga.
I headed along the river to Stockton and the regeneration has blocked more Roads but I found a way through by walking.  I didn’t set off until about 10.30am, so decided I would ride until about 1.00pmish.
I went through Elton and across though the Whinnies nature reserve but then turned down through Middleton St George, down the hill to Neasham and along through Hurworth to Croft. Here I crossed the bridge and then took a minor road marked as cycle route 165, towards Cleasby. I never realised that this small village is so close to both the A66 and the A1M but within minutes I crossed over both of them on bridges.
From Cleasby, I rode along through Manfield and on to Eppleby. The new village shop has put up signage to increased cyclists getting to them. I bought an ice cream, not much but at least every little helps.

image

Here’s my bike under a large tree on the village green. As it was a lovely warm day, I had taken ice to cool my drinks. Water only I hasten to add.

image

I carried it in a small flask and there was still some left when I got home.

image

I decided to go back through Piercebridge and have a look at the remains of an ancient Roman town.

image

I hope you can see the information on this notice board.

image

Here is one of the channels use for moving water in the town. Most of the remains are under the village. I am very fortunate to live in this part of the world where we have a wealth of historical remains.
I headed back towards Darlington but took a wrong turn and ended up on the A67 at High Coniscliffe. I got onto the pavement as it was safer, but you would think it had been put down with the back of a shovel.
I got into Darlington, and called in to one of my favourite shops in the indoor market, Pauline Hopes. Then it was a dash home as I had couple of young missionaries coming over for an evening meal. Luckily, I had left most of it ready and a quick telephone call home, meant that DS1 had it on the table when I got home. Just a smidge under 53 miles today.

Responses

  1. Nice post….thanks for sharing the ride.. 🙂

  2. Again, soooooo lucky to be able to see Roman remains. Apparently Warrington had Romans, and Wilderspool (where I went to school, when we moved to the new one) was a Roman Fort, as it was on the banks of the River Mersey. I must get out to the museum to remind myself.

  3. Dear Brenda
    I think I have read posts from you on the Frugal Forums. I am fascinated by your adventures. Have you blogged on the equipment you use? The specification of the cycles you ride and the camping or day equipment you carry?
    I would like to get an idea of what I might need to tackle day trips and overnight. Do you use paper maps and plan out your route in advance or do you use tomtom type technology and let it do the work?
    With regards
    Noddy,


Leave a Reply

Categories

