Posted by: brendaintheboro | May 8, 2013

Yorkshire Wolds part3

Day 4 Sunday 5th May 2013

The day dawned with beautiful sunshine but we weren’t having a very early start as we wanted to go and worship at church in York. Thanks to the sat nav we were able to cycle past the race course and up into the Acomb area of the city.
image

We met some people we knew, quite a few who were children of friends that have moved down to the York area. It was really good to connect with them again as we worshipped together.

After the sacrament meeting, we cycled down into the city so that we could find route 65. However, not all cycle routes are cycle friendly. It was a good job, my DH was with me as I would not be able to negotiate this myself.
image

image

It took both of us to get the bikes up and down this lot of steps. It might be alright with an unloaded bikes but this is on the route to the railway station. Doesn’t make cyclesence to me.

When we finally emerged , I recognised we were at Lendle bridge and could access route 65 on the riverside. As it was so lovely the riverside was packed with tourists but most were only in the first half mile from the bridge. It’s a lovely ride through greenery and there were many other cyclists about, some with children which was good to see.

The route passes between Rawcliffe and Nether Poppleton before meandering up past Beningbrough Hall and into Newton-on-Ouse where we stopped to eat. This is a very pretty village and the trees were bursting with blossom.
image

Sorry this isn’t such a good photo but you get the idea of the typical English village green. Setting off again we cycled on through Linton-on-Ouse , over the toll bridge at Aldwark(free for cyclists) and into Great Ouseburn. There were more people than I had ever seen there before. Open garden days in small villages have become very popular and this was the reason. Furthur along we came across a classic car display of Morgans and MG’s.
image

I also had a chat with this lady dressed like a 1920’s lady making corn dollies in the middle of the green at one of the Dunsforth villages.
image

She lives on a very isolated farm and I asked if I could use the image on my blog. I had to explain what a blog is as she has no idea about computers. Such a lovely lady.

When we nearer Aldborough, a racing cyclist came up and cycled with us. He was very interested in the Kogas. He said he was a bit of a bike geek and has 12 of his own. He had been out interval training up a hill as he does some racing for one of the cycle shops.

We declined his invitation to have a cup of tea at his place which we passed in Boroughbridge. We wanted to get pitched as soon as possible as the cloud was building. We camped at the site in Roecliffe and the assistant manager gave us a lovely spot just near the river.
image

The water is navigable here and all sorts of craft pass by.
image

Day 5 Monday 6th May 2013

Well, DH was awake early and he was determined to get us home with time to get unpacked and put away.
image

Here he is packing our home made quilt. We were on the road by 7.15am and headed up towards Norton-le-Clay, Asenby and Topcliffe before taking the A167 to Northallerton closing the loop.
We had 2nd breakfast and cycled home the way we came. Home by 12.45pm, a fast ride for us and 240 miles completed. I felt like Queen of the road.

Responses

  1. Have enjoyed these posts Brenda….Thanks for letting us tag along..

  2. Thanks Trevor. Not too long until you do your Ten ride. I believe we’ll be up in Scotland then. Hope I can get connections so I can write it up as I go along

  3. I know those steps in York and I can imagine you struggling with them with loaded bikes. I love your camping photos and your tent looks very comfortable. What is your quilt made of? Now to go and catch up on your other posts.
    Before leaving, the Morgan club used to meet in Kilburn, in the pub opposite the Mouseman works.

    • Yes , there were some Morgans there. I must say they were in splendid condition and such beautiful colours .

    • We’ve had the tent, a Robens Hikers Castle for about 8 years but haven’t used it much. I usually use my home mades but with going up to the far north , I think we need to take something with less wind age, as it could be much wetter and windier up there. It is a good tent, very well made with a high hydrostatic head. The quilt was a kit bought from Ray Jardine in the US. I made it in 2005 and it had claimashield insulation. It is really good and slits in 2 across the width. Would you like me to do a post on what we use for sleeping?

  4. That would be really interesting, Brenda. I need to make some sort of shelter for when I am using my stove in back door of my Land Rover. The door opens sideways not upwards so I don’t have any shelter. Unfortunately there are no holes in the guttering to tie anything to. We’ll have to think of that one. I don’t do cycle camping, as I think I told you, never did it as a kid, maybe I’ve got a bit soft in my old age. The Robens tents look really good quality, I looked at them a few years ago. You don’t need lightweight unless you’re actually carrying them. I used to have a Saunders Jetpacker which was like sleeping in a coffin, until realised the comfort of a less spartan tent.


Leave a Reply

Categories

