Posted by: brendaintheboro | October 1, 2012

The Drum Up

A couple of years ago, DH and I did a cycle trip up to the Isle of Aran off the west coast of Scotland. The weather wasn’t brilliant and we came back towards Glasgow. Unfortunately, we couldn’t find accommodation due to a large pop concert going on. We ended up at the Youth Hostel at Loch Lomond and it was so nice we stayed 2 nights . The weather had improved on the Sunday , so we rode north along the shores of the Loch. We met an older chap mending a puncture and stopped to ask if he needed help. He declined but invited us to the drum up. We were confused and he said”ach, you English. You always use coffee shops.”
The drum up is when these guys meet up for a tea stop , light an open fire and make their tea. The drum is the vessel and it is what the Glasgow shipyard workers called the tea can.
These men have cycled together for over 60 years and have been to many different countries including Japan and Romania in the communist era.
I made this quilt to commemorate that visit and to show at the Loch Lomond quilt show in 2010.

20121001-091308.jpg
I hope you can see the details as they all have meaning for me.

Responses

  1. That is pretty impressive Brenda…Interesting post.

  2. That is so beautiful, Brenda. I absolutely love the detailed figures. How talented you are.

    • Thanks Ann Marie. I painted the figures individually and then hand appliquéd them into position after making the background.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pretty!

  4. Oh my goodness, now that’s the work of a talented needlewoman! I like the posture of the cyclists. They seem very relaxed and natural (not easy to achieve, I’m sure). What a lovely story! There’s something about brewing a cuppa from scratch outdoors. I often use my little Trangia (easily fits in my pannier). Somehow it’s much more satisfying than taking the lid off a Thermos (althoug on a cold, rainy day that can be heaven too). 🙂

    • Thank you BB for your kind comments. We use a tiny Coleman gas stove on days out. Great for a brew and making toasted sandwiches when it’s cold weather. We’ve not really had a summer this year so it’s been used a fair bit.

      Sent from my iPhone


Leave a Reply

Categories

